Home » Announcements » Governor adds Walker County to Disaster Declaration

Governor adds Walker County to Disaster Declaration

by Walker County News Today staff

Shortly before noon today Governor Greg Abbot added 20 additional counties, including Walker County, to his previously issued disaster declaration.

The governor’s original Disaster Proclamation was issued on Wednesday, August 23 in anticipation of Hurricane Harvey’s landfall along the south Texas coast.  Counties included in the original list included:  Aransas, Austin, Bee, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Brazoria, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Waller, Wharton, and Wilson counties.

Counties added with today’s amendment include:  Atascosa, Bexar, Brazos, Caldwell, Cameron, Comal, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Jasper, Kerr, Lee, Leon, Madison, Montgomery, Newton, Tyler, Walker, Washington and Willacy counties.

A request for Presidential Disaster Declaration has also been requested by Governor Abbott via a letter to President Trump yesterday.   A federal disaster declaration brings with it assistance and additional resources for counties affected by the hurricane.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: